#PPP announces contestants for Senate elections

Karachi. 9.2.2015: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Parliamentary Board General Secretary former Prime Minister of Pakistan Raja Pervez Ashraf formally announced PPP’s contestants for the elections of the Senate of Pakistan to be held onMarch 3, 2015.
PPP Vice President and former Pakistani convoy to the United States Sheri Rehman, Khyber Pakhtoonkhawa (KPK) President Khanzada Khan, Sindh Minister Jam Mahtab Hussain Dahar, Senator Saeed Ghani, Bilawal House spokesperson Jameel Soomro, Sindh Chief Minister’s Coordinator Waqar Mehdi and special assistant Rashid Hussain Rabbani had flanked the Parliamentary Board General Secretary Raja Pervez Ashraf.
On the occasion, PPP Media Cell Sindh members Habibuddin Junaidi, Lateef Mughal, Manzoor Abbas and Zulfiquar Ali Kaimkhani were present.
According to details, former Chairman of the Senate and former federal Law Minister Farooq H Naek would contest Senate elections on Technocrat seat while on special seat for women, former provincial Minister Sassui Palejo was awarded the party ticket for the Senate.
On General Seats, Islam Ud Din Shaikh, Abdul Rehman Malik, Saleem Mandiwala, Engineer Gyan Chand and Abdul Lateef Ansari would contest the elections of the Senate.
From Punjab, former federal Minister Nadeem Afzal Chan would be the only contestant to contest elections of the Senate.
From Khyber Pakhtoonkhawa (KPK), PPP KPK President Khanzada Khan and Noor Alam Khan would be contesting for the Senate elections on General Seats while PPP KPK General Secretary Humayoon Khan would be contesting elections of the Senate on seats for the Technocrats.
From the Federal Area, PPP Women Wing President Nargis Faiz Malik would contest on General seat.
After disclosing PPP’s contestants for the Senate, Ashraf told that PPP had 41 members in the Senate of which 20 were retiring of which 7 were from Sindh province and hence the names of the new contestants were announced to make for the retiring strength in the Senate of Pakistan. Those from Sindh, who would continue to be members of the Senate, were Senator Saeed Ghani, Senator Taj Haider, Senator Raza Rabbani, Senator Ajiz Dhamra, Senator Hari Ram, Dr Kareem Khawaja and Sahar Imran.
Senator Chaudhry Aetizaz Ahsan and Senator Babar Awan would continue to be the members of the Senate and from KPK, Senator Farhatullah Khan Babar, Ahad Hassan, Saifullah Bangash, Rubina Khalid, Usman Saifullah and Yousuf Brohi, Saifullah Magsi and Rozi Khan Kakar would also continue to be members of the Senate from Balouchistan.
Parliamentary Board General Secretary Raja Pervez Ashraf on a question replied that PPP President Makhddom Amin Fahim had been abroad for medical check-up and he was expected to return to Pakistan late Monday night and hence the names of PPP’s contestants were announced with his consultation.
To another querry, Ashraf said it was the prerogative of the Parliamentary Board to interview and select the final candidates for the tickets.

کیٹاگری میں : News

اپنا تبصرہ بھیجیں