Mian Manzoor Watto urges govt to undertake a thorough review of its anti-farmer policies

MIAN Manzoor Ahmed Wattoo, President Punjab PPP-P, while addressing a meeting of the Pakistan Kissan Ittehad representatives near Deepal Pur, district Okara, urged the government to undertake a thorough review of its anti-farmer policies and change these to pro-farmer policies because about 70% population’s livelihood of this country was directly or indirectly depended on agriculture.
He also demanded that the farmers of Maroot, district Bahawalpur, must not be made subject of provincial tyranny adding fabricated cases against them must be withdrawn immediately. He drew attention of the provincial government to the plight of farmers whose houses were set on fire by miscreants. The victims must be compensated adequately and immediately, he demanded.
In the meeting a unanimous resolution was passed demanding the government to withdraw export duty levied on the export of potatoes. The resolution also demanded that the support price of sugarcane should be raised from the present rate of Rs. 150 to Rs. 182 per 40 KG to compensate the sugarcane growers who had been suffering due to uncertainty of the support price. The resolution further mentioned that the rice growers had to sell their commodity at throwaway price because of the lackadaisical attitude of the government. The resolution demanded that the government should extend subsidy to the rice grower at the rate of Rs. 5,000 per acre to make up his losses.
Earlier, the participants decried the anti-farmer policies of the government describing as depriving them of the dividends of their sweat and toil. They maintained that the PPP governments had been favourably inclined towards farmer community as compared to the PML (N) governments. The prosperity of the rural economy mainly owes to the PPP governments, they maintained.
Those who attended the meeting of Kissan Ittehd included Malilk Muhammad Ahmed, Senior VP, Kissan Ittehad, Mian Ahmed Shuja Wattoo, Ex-chairman District Council, Mian Asim Khan Maneka, Moazzam Wattoo, Ex-MPA Malilk Khaizar Hayat, Ex-Nazim Hafiz Muhammad Arshad, Ex-Nazim Mian Muhammad Tufail Matela, Mian Riaz Ahmed Advocate, Mian Muhammad Aslam Mohil, Malik Nadeem Ahmed Advocate, Mian Mohsin Skinder Advocate, Mian Akhttar Khan Bhatti and Mian Ghulam Ahmed Bodla.

کیٹاگری میں : News

اپنا تبصرہ بھیجیں